top of page
Msimbi T.K

P.A.C.T 11: Four Weeks of Perspective

Updated: May 31, 2022

Hello Dear Friends & Family,

Here we are again, I hope these last two months have been going well for you. In this article I will be addressing perspective, as an art technique and as a general concept. However, I will be covering the months of both April and May. This month, or more generally, this season’s article is special because I've just returned from a country I had not been to since I was six years old, but which I still considered home.

I started my trip to Kenya on March 20th and traveled to different cities within the country, including Muranga, Ruaka, Ngong, Mombasa, Kitale, Karen, Nairobi, and Ronge.



In Muranga, I spent time with my aunt/Senge Jackie & my hilarious Fafa/Uncle Ngumba, and got my hair done. I also learned the difference between a tree tomato and a passionfruit and was quite salty about it.















In other cities, I got to meet or reunite with several of my cousins. We played cards, hung out together, went to a festival, shared stories and shared art. While working on a drawing of a bridge, which was taken by cousin Hans M. Another one of my cousins, Frantal K., helped me improve the depth of the bridge drawing, by teaching me about color theory and two types of perspective in art. These are the linear perspective and the three-point perspective, used for 3 Dimensional figures, such as a cubes or buildings.





















As well, four of these cousins and I stretched our adventure muscles by walking around Karura forest.











In Ngong, I went to the national Giraffe Forest and fed several large giraffes, which consequently inspired me to write a poem called "'Raffe".





Being with family and friends taught me to enjoy life, to relax and enjoy everyday moments, as well as to be thankful for everything you are given, however little or much, it may be.






More importantly, we should be grateful for the people God puts in our life and for the things we get to experience. By sharing our lives with others, we get to see a different picture than that of our own lives, we get to sympathize, or even empathize with others around us, we get to encourage and share hope. Isn't that what life comes down to?




I hope that by sharing my adventures with you all, that I have encouraged you and given you hope. There are bright days, there are places to explore, there are friends to make, the simplest items or activities, can still make a big difference, and most importantly, it's not what you have that matters, but who you share it with.




























72 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

1 Comment


Ashley Kikuyu
Ashley Kikuyu
May 31, 2022

Wooow.. This is an amazing article

Like
bottom of page