top of page
Msimbi T.K

P.A.C.T Talk # 7:"Remember November, Even Now"

Updated: Jun 12, 2023


Hey Friends and Family,

I’m back,..! I bet you thought there wasn’t gonna be another of these talks. Remember my spiel about Novembers? This year, it feels like December jumped in, before November was done…okay, stay on track…my spiel about Novembers…. If you don’t remember, the gist of it was, that I didn’t see the point of the Thanksgiving day, and that we should feel or be grateful all the time. I do still think people ought to have attitudes of gratitude, but this year especially,, even with some hard situations, I am more grateful than I have been in the past, and I can look back and see how much my life has changed, or in other cases, remained the same.

First of all, I am grateful I found art, and that God has allowed me to have something to rave about. Yet it’s not just the art that I get to talk about, but the fact that I get to share my experiences and faith and the fact that you all are listening and waiting for me to do so. I am grateful for the images I often feel inspired to attempt to draw or paint, that I get to create a cycle where I can share those artistic ideas and create new ones out of them.

I also am grateful because I’ve had many opportunities to encourage others, but also learn how to care about others well, and to care too, for my own well being.

When you give your all to something, you can get engulfed in it, but it’s in those times that we need to remember who we are, and whose we are and even to remember that it’s okay to be human. We may not get things right 100% of the time, but if we’re doing our best, there is mercy and grace. We need to remember to give ourselves grace. “Until grace, called my name, I didn’t know I could be free until grace found me” (AZLyrics, 2021). #amazingconcert #uptop #thankyou Dr. AuntyEsther &fam.


Two characters-artists who I believe embody this idea of self-acceptance are Frida Kahlo and Georgia O'Keeffe.


Both O'Keeffe and Kahlo painted with large strokes and vibrant colors, which to me, shows their ability to be themselves and think outside of the box, at a time when that wasn’t too popular.

Frida Kahlo was a liberal-thinker, who involved herself in politics, when not many people cared about the plight of women, and other underrepresented groups. This shows tenacity and bravery, which is something we all should strive for, no matter what our background may be.

Let’s look at some of their works as we learn to care for ourselves and each other. The first two paintings we see are of O'Keeffe's flower paintings.

Georgia O'Keeffe: Oriental Poppies

Georgia O'Keeffe 2: Red Canna

Though, this next painting is different, I chose it for its brilliance and uniqueness.

Georgia O'Keeffe 3: Red Hills & White Shell

Now we go to Frida Kahlo’s work, and in line with the flower theme, we see “Flower of Life”

Frida Kahlo: Flower of Life


This last extravagant painting is called “Time Flies” and it was painted in 1929,

Frida Kahlo: Time Flies

Coincidentally, there once was a poem written 92 years later, unknowingly, with the same name.


I leave you now with the poem, "Time Flies" by SimSim Kikuyu

Time Flies by SimSim Kikuyu

Friends and family from the past

Still live in the present and future when memories last

When views and feelings bend

To the future we can ascend or descend

With others near we are able to cope,

Then with them, for them, for ourselves,

We begin to find hope.


Motivated. Thoughtful. Keen. Stylish. Revised and Re-used on 17 December 2021.



References

AZLyrics - request for access. AZLyrics.com. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.azlyrics.com/lyrics/taurenwells/untilgrace.html on 19 December 2021.



Oriental Poppies, 1928 by Georgia O'Keeffe. Framed Art and Framed Prints. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.framedart.com/okeeffe/oriental-poppies-1928-print-37137.htm on December 18, 2021,

Red Canna by Georgia O'Keeffe. Framed Art and Framed Prints. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.framedart.com/okeeffe/red-canna-print-155861.htm on 17 December 2021.

Red Hills and White Shell, 1938 by Georgia O'Keeffe. Framed Art and Framed Prints. (n.d.). Retrieved from https://www.framedart.com/okeeffe/red-hills-and-white-shell-1938-print-265111.htm on 18th December 2021.

Frida Kahlo - flower of life - canvas or print wall art. Walmart.com. (n.d.).


Self portrait time flies - by Frida Kahlo. (n.d.) .Retrieved from https://www.fridakahlo.org/self-portrait-time-flies.jsp on 17 December 2021.







29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page