top of page
Msimbi T.K

The Blessings of Texas: Day 6-7: Austin & Arlington

Updated: Jun 16, 2023


I’ve never traveled this far for another human outside of my family. The thought dawns on me as I sit on the Megabus, now fully committed to this trip. You only live once, right? If I’m gonna go on vacation and I have the means to, why not go all out? I’m tired of living in fear and letting worries make decisions about my life and happiness, I want to live fully, and do things despite or in spite of fear, anxiety and worry. These are my thoughts as I head down to see my friend of 13 years…


"We came, we saw, we conquered”,that’s the saying right? I came to Austin, saw my friend & conquered the burning question of whether there was anything there to build a relationship on…and the answer for now, is no, we will just be good friends…




After taking the bus from Austin, I was picked up by my aunty Chao at about 9:30pm, hauling all the brisket and chicken I brought to and from Austin. I had my dinner and tea (no, I did not eat 2 pounds of brisket), but I did watch a USA versus Mexico soccer match with my second cousin Morris, before I turned in for the event-packed day.





14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page